Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Embossing Folder Organization

I was at a rubber stamp gathering in August 2014 and saw the cool way that Gloria Albertson (from Texas) had organized her embossing folders. She embossed each folder design on a tag and put the tags on a book ring. That way she knows what she owns. I came home and did the same thing but I numbered mine with corresponding numbers on folder and tag. I used a Sharpie to number the embossing folders. Then I made dividers so there are 10 folders per section. I have a few embossing folders that are the new larger size so I cut a few tags from cardstock in a different color. When I come across any yellow tags (or whatever color you choose) I can tell they are the larger embossing folders. The jar (in the photo below) holds long skinny embossing folders. I put those tags on the blue book ring. Here's pictures of the completed project:

Thursday, February 20, 2014

May Day Baskets

I am totally in loVe with my Envelope Punch Board (EPB). I got mine from HSN for $20 + shipping and just last month I found that Walmart carries the EPB so I ordered one online (gift for a friend) for only $14.50 and just had to go to my local Walmart to pick it up. I used it to make both the basket and the bows. I found the project on Pinterest and you can find the directions here: http://craftyhallett.wordpress.com/2013/11/11/baskets-made-with-the-envelope-punch-board/. You begin with an 8"x8" piece of paper. There are tons of pins on how to make the bow using the EPB but this link takes you to my favorite bow: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/29766047511005780/. She makes hers 1" wide and the rest of the bows on Pinterest are a bit wider and don't look nearly as nice IMHO. She used cardstock strips that are 1" x 6", 1" x 3½" and then ¼" x 1¼". To those strips I added a 1" x 5½" strip because I think my 'double bow' looks way cuter!!! You can use any punch to construct the handle. I used a Martha Stewart punch and my cardstock strip was 1½" x 11". The handle is glued to the outside of the basket and the bows cover up the ends. The white strip on the sunflower basket handle is ¼" x 11". These baskets are sturdier if you use cardstock. I used text weight paper from a tableton the sunflower basket and my 2nd basket pictured below was made from cardstock. The tiny baskets (that will hold a handfull of M&M's) began was a 4"x4" square. If you have any questions, please ask. Comments are ALWAYS welcome... Simply 'click' on photo for a larger view.

Simply Sketched - Pretty in Pink

This was a fun card to make. Begin with 8 different embossing folders and cut each square 1¼”. The white panel is a 2½” square and is mounted on pink cardstock that's just a tad bigger. I used a SU hostess stamp set called 'Simply Sketched' and colored the flower with Copic markers.

Friday, February 14, 2014

This is the Valentine that I made for my DH yesterday. The ducks are stamped directly on the card front and then I inserted a piece of acetate between the pink & red cardstock. I couldn't wait to use my new hearts embossing folder and loVed how much it added to this card. I typed the sentiment and printed if off on a white cardstock heart..and since it's a bit on the 'naughty' side I decided that I probably shouldn't share it here.

Scor-Pal Father's Day card


I just found this one in my drafts folder and although it didn't photograph very well figured I'd post it anyway. This card is super fast to make but very striking. Give it for Father's Day or a masculine birthday. Just score every 1/2" on your base card, add the tie and you're done!

Party Your Little Heart Out!

These cards are very vibrant but that didn't translate very well when I snapped a photo of them. The 1st pic is of a cardfront done by Kelly Eiseman (from WA state) and the 2nd card is mine which stamplifted from her card. Inside my card it says "Party Your Little Heart Out".

Friday, February 7, 2014

Inside is a pocket that holds a coffee giftcard. This card uses the same directions as my TAC "What's Moo" card below. For this one I used a Stampin' Up! set called "The Perfect Blend" and a SU embossing folder. Enjoy!
A2 What’s Moo? by Avis Anderson Supplies: 4¼” x 9” cardstock (card base-white) 3¾” x 4” cardstock (panel-blue) Scoring Board Standard Circles–lg. #3 die (counting from smallest die to largest) 2½” x 2½” cardstock (sentiment-green) Standard Circles–sm. #4 die Big Shot 3” x 3” Post-It Note Adhesive Directions: Find the center of the #3 die and mark (see example 1) on the top & the bottom of the smooth unridged side of die with a Sharpie. Set aside. (Example 1)
Begin with card base. With right side facing up and 9” across top fence (ATF) of score board, score ONLY the top & bottom inch (see example 2) on the 4½” score line. If you accidently score the whole line, don’t panic because it won’t show too much. Leaving the center portion unscored strengthens the circle. Emboss panel and then adhere (put adhesive on top, bottom & right sides of panel only), centering on the right side of your card. (Example 2)
Okay, it’s show time!!! Stick post-it note on premarked die, lining it up on center marks. Then line up score lines with right edge of post-it (see example 3). Run finger down adhesive portion so it will stay in place. All that’s left is cutting it out on the Big Shot. (Example 3)
Place the multipurpose platform (tab 1) on the left side of your Big Shot, next goes the bottom acrylic cutting pad, then the cardstock/die. See example 4 → Slip in the top acrylic cutting pad. It will go on top of the right side only, the side that has the exposed die. Butt it up to the post-it and top & bottom score lines. Because the top cutting pad is not covering the left side (post-it side) of the card, that side won’t be cut. (Example 4)
Contact me (kcangel@embarqmail.com) and I will email you the above document (n 1 sheet) with all the pictures.
My brother is a house painter (both inside & out) so I made this one of a kind card for his birthday last September. I used the colors that are in our beach/tropical themed home (of course, painting done by Kenny) tangerine kitchen, blue living room w/magenta ceiling, lime green computer/fireplace room. Also here's the striped door that he painted.

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Copic REINKER storage

This isn't for the Copic markers...but for their reinkers. For detailed view, click on largest photo. This organizational system is totally and completely mine. I did not see it anywhere at all. I have just been letting my brain 'think' about how to accomplish the storage neatly and it just 'came to me' one evening last week. Photo 1: The storage pieces are all made from 8 1/2" x 11" cardstock. One piece of cardstock will make 1 tray with I-Beams (to separate & sturdy the sections) and 1 place-holder. 16 trays w/fit into a standard (12"x17") cardboard box. Photo 2: Each tray holds 17 reinkers so there are places for 272 Copic reinker bottles. The place-holders are a hollow tube and let me know if a reinker bottle is missing. E31 to the left of E33 is missing. C7 is missing and it's place-holder is to the left of N1. Photo 3 shows a place-holder for the missing reinker bottle YR14. Hopefully I w/find the missing ones when I clean off my craft table. Photo 4: I removed a tray so you could see what they look like close up. I took a few place-holders out of the tray to give you a better view. Please LMK if you have any questions.

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Let love bloom...on your birthday!

I found this really cool post that Cara did called Scrappy Background. It's the way she uses up her 1/4" scraps. Her blog is: http://www.owhstarsandstamps.org/2012/05/tuesday-tutorial-scrappy-backgrounds.html and I just finished making the card below, based on her post. She used 1/4" strips but mine was made with 1/2" strips. Next time I'll do some with the 1/4" strips. Anyway, please check out her blog because it's a great way to use up those scraps that keep accumulating.

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Toy Wreath

My sister (Mary) made this darling Toy Wreath last winter with her granddaughter (Lauren). In person, this wreath is a big WOW so just letting ya know that I don't think her pic does it justice. Mary went to thrift shops, bought a couple bags of toys and applied them to a grapevine wreath with a glue gun. I want to make one for our home so I plan to see what I can find at garage sales this summer. Might dig around in my granddaughter's (Maggie) room firt and see if I can talk her out of some of her 'treasures'. To see a larger version, click on the picture.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Digital Tuesday Challenge

I'm taking the 'Digital Tuesday is Just Peachy' challenge from the Digital Tuesday Challenge blog. My first card uses a digi design from Dustin Pike. Click on the picture to enlarge. I used the colorless blender to made the tail and ears plaid.

My 2nd card is pretty much the same color scheme. I've been into peach and green lately so this challenge was right up my alley. I haven't used digi images very much so when I got this freebie, I forgot to put it in a folder so I'd know who it was from. Next time I won't forget. Hope you like these images.

Thursday, March 15, 2012

card for Emily


A little 7 year old girl by the name of Emily has been fighting leukemia since before December of 2011. She has had to endure more pain in one year then most adults in their entire life. She has gone from Leukemia to Rotavirus, to pancreatitis, to kidney stones then to shingles, not to mention over 300 pokes in her little tiny body. From chemo to blood draws to feeding tubes. She has definitely had her ups and her downs.

Dustin Pike would like to bless her by encouraging all of his blog followers to send her a card to brighten her day. Emily has a long life ahead of her and with the encouragement of her family and friends is fighting with all her strength.

I used a pre-colored Dustin Pike image for Emily Ziemathis' card. The caption inside the card says 'Easter Blessings'. I really loved this image when I first saw it. I thought about popping the eggs up but hated to cut up one of the colored images to do it. I plan to have my grandkids make Emily a card this weekend using this same design but they will do the coloring and design their own cards. I think I'll mail them all individually so Emily will have more mail to open.

Thursday, May 26, 2011

It's MY DAY to be GUEST DESIGNER over at TAC's Savvy Projects blog!!!

The Angel Company did a bloghop EVERY DAY in the month of May and I was a guest designer for them on May 23rd. To check out more entries, the link is: http://theangelcompany.typepad.com.



The week of May 22nd we used sketch 61 that was designed by my good friend and multi-talented ANGEL, Heather Scott.

The faux scallop border was made by punching four circles, cutting them in half and butting them up against the 5 1/2" strip. Adhere to back with scotch tape. It's a great way to use your left over scraps so I hope this trick comes in handy for you. If you punch holes in the scalloped border, do it before adhering panel to card front. CLICK on any card to view an enlarged version.
ALL listed supplies available through TAC via your local Angel: Caboodles Set B (cardstock & Copic markers), Flowers Impressabilities Die, 3/4" circle punch, 2 1/2" circle punch, Lil' Cuties (special edition) stamp set, scissors, adhesive

Aren't you totally amazed at how very different our cards look when we all use the same sketch to begin with? My second card uses cardstock from TAC's paper collection called EMMA. I have changed the orientation of my card from landscape to portrait. The only other liberty that I took with the sketch was to add a thin scrap of patterned cardstock on top of the green strip.


ALL listed supplies available through TAC via your local Angel: Caboodles Set C (cardstock & Copic markers), pattern cardstock from the Emma Collection, kraft cardstock, 3/4" circle punch, 2 1/2" circle punch, Rolling By stamp set, scissors, hole punch, adhesive, Tuxedo Black Memento inkpad, Desert Sand Memento inkpad, hydra sponge

Rubber Hugs, Avis Anderson
Angel #0056 - Kansas